Turning Off Live Photos

A Live Photo on your iPhone is a photo that records 1.5 seconds before and after you press the shutter button. This allows you to capture a little bit more than just the single photo you are used to.

Recently, Apple has started allowing us to edit Live Photos so that you can select a part of the photo that you actually want. This is cool.

But I could do without the feature. It bugs me. Every time I turn it off, it comes back on. This has been driving my wife and I nuts since we got our new phones.

I forgot about one little feature.

To turn off Live Photos and keep it that way, first go to your camera and tap the target-looking logo in the top status bar.

Then, go to Settings > Camera > Preserve Settings > Toggle on Live Photo.

This will keep it turned off. I know this is a simple tip but can be frustrating when it keeps coming back on after you have turned it off.